Sending money to Ethiopia
How to compare the licensed services, what each one delivers and how it charges, your rights when something goes wrong, and why the unlicensed channel costs more than it looks.
Licensed services that send to Ethiopia
In no particular order. What each page said on the day it was checked; “not confirmed” means check in the app.
RemitlyOn the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
- Remitly
Delivers to: Bank deposit (CBE, Awash, Dashen, Abyssinia and more), telebirr, CBE Birr, M-Pesa, Amole, cash pickup.
How it charges: Fee depends on amount, payment method and speed; fee and rate shown before you send. A one-time welcome rate on the first $500, bank payment only.
US licence: NMLS 1028236On the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
Checked October 20, 2026
WorldRemitOn the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
- WorldRemit
Delivers to: Bank deposit (in birr, or dollars to some accounts), telebirr, CBE Birr, cash pickup, airtime.
How it charges: A flat fee by delivery method, plus a margin in the rate; the calculator shows what arrives. A better rate on a first transfer, once.
US licence: NMLS 1179663On the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
Checked October 20, 2026
Western UnionOn the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
- Western Union
Delivers to: Mobile wallet (up to $2,500) and cash pickup at about 7,100 locations (up to $5,000). Bank deposit not listed on its US Ethiopia page.
How it charges: Transfer fee plus a margin in the rate; it says plainly that it earns from currency exchange. A $0 fee on a first online transfer is a promo.
US licence: NMLS 906983On the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
Checked October 20, 2026
MoneyGramOn the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
- MoneyGram
Delivers to: Bank deposit at many Ethiopian banks and cash pickup; wallets (telebirr, CBE Birr) are listed for developers, so confirm in the app.
How it charges: Not stated on its Ethiopia page; expect a fee plus a rate margin. Check the send screen.
US licence: NMLS 898432On the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
Checked October 20, 2026
Ria Money TransferOn the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
- Ria Money Transfer
Delivers to: Bank deposit (CBE, Abyssinia, Awash, Dashen and more), telebirr, Amole, cash pickup with photo ID.
How it charges: Fee and rate shown before sending. $0 fee on a first transfer with a code is a promo. Bank deposit can take 3–5 days.
US licence: NMLS 920968On the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
Checked October 20, 2026
Xoom (PayPal)On the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
- Xoom (PayPal)
Delivers to: Bank deposit (within about 4 days), telebirr, HelloCash, Amole, cash pickup.
How it charges: Transfer fee plus a margin that varies per transaction, as PayPal says itself.
US licence: NMLS 910457On the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
Checked October 20, 2026
DahabshiilOn the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
- Dahabshiil
Delivers to: telebirr, CBE Birr, HelloCash, Amole. Bank deposit and cash pickup for Ethiopia not confirmed.
How it charges: Fees vary by amount and payment method; no fee on a first transfer with a code.
US licence: NMLS 923618On the National Bank of Ethiopia's licensed list
Its licence page lists Georgia but not Nevada: Las Vegas senders should check NMLS first.
Checked October 20, 2026
Taptap Send
- Taptap Send
Delivers to: Bank deposit (1–2 business days) and telebirr (minutes), with limits by wallet level.
How it charges: No flat fee for Ethiopia; it takes a small percentage in the rate and shows it before you confirm.
US licence: NMLS 2108069National Bank list: unclear
Licensed in Georgia; Nevada not shown on its licence page. NBE lists only its UK company. Confirm in the app that Ethiopia is offered from the US.
Checked October 20, 2026
LemFi
- LemFi
Delivers to: Bank deposit (CBE, Lion); mobile money named but no provider given.
How it charges: Advertises no transfer fee; any margin in the rate is not disclosed.
US licence: NMLS 2523778 (partner Pomelo Two US LLC)Not on the National Bank of Ethiopia's list
Not on NBE's list. Ask which licensed partner pays out in Ethiopia before you send.
Checked October 20, 2026